She’s Doing What? Erin’s Triathlon Blog


Putting The F In Fundraising
February 7, 2008, 1:41 am
Filed under: Fundraising

This can only be described as surprising. So far in my Triathlon journey, the harder part of the battle has been fundraising as opposed to training. Not necessarily hard, but more difficult to get started.

LLS had a deal that if you got 100 fundraising letters addressed to go out by February 7, they would pay for postage. It’s a great deal and can save you 40 bucks of your own money. Too bad I got busy doing everything but fundraising. Luckily myfolks are willing to contribute to my cause in this regard. I’m using their printer and writing letter to their friends so while the $41 dollars would have been nice, I can make the money back. This is for a good cause.

I also e-mailed some of my contacts using the e-mail generator on my personal funding web site. I e-mailed the professional staff I used to work with at Vandy but it didn’t field any donations.  I’m hoping my reminder e-mail will be better received. Bad blood or not it’s for charity.

And I’m moving forward with my fundraiser at my parents’ house. I’m thinking the first weekend in March. I’ll probably need to mail invites for that too. Debate: Do I send fundraising letters to people I’m inviting to the event? Or should one be in place of the other?

This is serious business. I’d rather just go swimming and deal with one thing at time. I know once I put the feelers out there, the donations will come in. It’s just a matter of putting my mouth where the money is.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment